Blueberry Crumble Muffins

blueberry_muffins_2

It’s a warm, humid part of the year, and it’s almost too hot for chocolate! All I crave is an ice cold Pimms and lemonade, and for the mandatory-cake-portion of my diet, something fruity and fresh…

blueberry_muffins_FG

A while back, I heard of the legendary Ottolenghi blueberry muffins. A trusted source (ahem, Nigel), told me they were the best he’d ever had, and that is a very very tall order. Apparently, they were gloriously tall, and covered with a crumble topping that made them just the little bit more indulgent.. Of course I had to try them out myself! The original recipe is HUGE. They yield really tall muffins that I was certain would overflow from my tray, so I halved it, and ended up with 10 pretty sizeable muffins.These are chewy and tender, bursting with blueberries and plenty refreshing with the addition of sweet lime zest. I’ve omitted the apple this time because I was simply out of apples (shame). I do think they’ll add another dimension of sweetness and moistness to the muffins though!

blueberry_muffins_3

Plus, I love the crumble topping! I LOVE IT I LOVE IT and the good news is that the leftover crumble topping can be easily frozen and used to top various fruits for the ultimate fuss-free baked crumble (apple crumble anyone?). I foresee variations even within the crumble recipe- here I’ve added flaked almonds but I’m thinking ground ginger and cinnamon for a spiced crumble would be über delish as well.

Blueberry Crumble Muffins

Lightly adapted from Ottolenghi, the Cookbook

Makes 10 standard muffins

  • 270g plain flour
  • 2.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 170g sugar
  • 70g melted butter
  • 190ml milk
  • grated zest of 1/2 lemon or lime
  • 100g blueberries plus more for topping
  • a handful of flaked almonds

For the crumble:

  • 75g flour
  • 50g cold butter, cubed
  • 25g sugar

1. Preheat the oven to 170°C.

2. For the crumble, mix all the ingredients with dry fingertips and gently rub the butter into the flour and sugar. The texture should be sandy, with a few lumps. Refrigerate until ready to use.

blueberry_muffins_12

blueberry_muffins_11

3. Sift flour, baking powder, and salt into a bowl.

blueberry_muffins_9

4. In another bowl, whisk egg, melted butter, sugar, milk, and lemon/lime zest. Stir in the blueberries, but save some for topping!

blueberry_muffins_10

blueberry_muffins_8

blueberry_muffins_7

5. Add the sifted dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, folding gently to combine the mixture. There should be no traces of flour, and the batter should be lumpy. Overfolding will result in tough muffins (no…!)

blueberry_muffins_6

 

blueberry_muffins_5

6. Spoon the mixture into 10 muffin cases. I like to use a 1/3 cup for this, but I think an ice cream scoop would be brilliant!

blueberry_muffins_4

7. Top the muffins with crumble mixture, extra blueberries, and flaked almonds.

8. Bake for 30-35 mins until a skewer inserted comes out clean.

9. Cool, and devour! These are best warm from the oven, while the crumble topping is still slightly crisp!

blueberry_muffins_1

Love, Sarah (PS. I love my Union Jack muffin liners! :D)

blueberrymuffins card

Leave a Reply

